Bottom line: Convenience retail in the Philippines is a real, growing sector — but it is not an easy passive investment. It works best for hands-on operators with ₱4M–₱8M+ capital, strong site control, and retail discipline, especially in provincial, BPO, and university corridors. In saturated Metro Manila, competition from hard discounters, sari-sari stores, and delivery apps makes location selection the make-or-break factor. Franchise beats independent for first-timers; sari-sari upgrade beats jumping straight to a full franchise if capital is limited.
1. Market overview
Market size and growth
| Metric | Figure | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Convenience channel value sales (2025) | ₱127.6 billion (+8% YoY) | Euromonitor — one of fastest-growing retail channels in PH |
| Convenience store revenue range (2024) | US$10–15 billion | Broader definition; approximate — conflicts with Euromonitor channel figure |
| 7-Eleven system-wide sales (2024) | ₱93.5 billion (+13.8%) | Single brand dominates channel |
| Food share of convenience sales | ~two-thirds; ~$2.4B food sales (2024 est.) | Foodservice is core, not optional |
| Convenience channel YoY sales growth (2023) | +19% | Fastest among modern grocery formats |
GDP/inflation context (2025–2026): Real GDP growth ~5–6%. Inflation was 1.3% in May 2025 but accelerated to 7.2% in April 2026 amid fuel and Middle East spillover. Retail growth continues, but margin pressure is real.
Store counts by major chain (2024–2026)
| Chain | Approx. stores | Expansion note |
|---|---|---|
| 7-Eleven | 4,491 (end-2025); targeting 5,000 by end-2026 | +500 stores planned 2026; >50% new stores in Visayas/Mindanao |
| Alfamart | 2,337 (Sep 2025); targeting ~2,500 | Luzon-focused; franchising pilot launched 2024–2025 |
| Uncle John's (ex-Ministop) | ~402 | Rebranded 2022; ~40 new stores planned late 2025 |
| DALI (hard discount) | 1,000+ | Not classic convenience, but direct competitor for residential wallet |
| O!Save (hard discount) | 750 (Apr 2026 milestone) | Robinsons Retail minority stake |
| Lawson | 72–200+ (conflicting counts) | Verify directly with Lawson PH |
| AllDay | ~80 | Villar Group; smaller footprint |
| FamilyMart | Effectively closed (~2025) | Do not rely on PFA listing — brand exit risk |
| Shell Select | ~157 | Gas-adjacent format |
| Petron Treats | ~125+ at stations | Reacquired from San Miguel Food |
Estimated branded modern mini/convenience network: ~8,000–9,500 outlets (excluding ~1.3M sari-sari stores).
Saturation vs. opportunity
| Zone | Saturation | Opportunity |
|---|---|---|
| Metro Manila CBDs (BGC, Makati, Ortigas) | Very high — site bidding wars with DALI/O!Save | Only A+ corners, transit nodes, 24/7 office clusters |
| Metro Manila residential | High but still expanding | Near condos, schools, hospitals; food-forward + services differentiation |
| Calabarzon/Luzon provinces | Moderate–high | Alfamart stronghold; franchise or minimart gaps in new subdivisions |
| Visayas/Mindanao cities | Lower — 7-Eleven aggressively expanding | Cebu, Davao, Iloilo, Bacolod, Clark — best greenfield band |
| Rural/provincial towns | Low modern penetration | Sari-sari still wins on tingi; modern format needs volume anchor (BPO, university, tourism) |
Consumer behavior (Philippines-specific)
- Sachet/tingi economy: ~164 million sachets daily; sari-sari is cultural default. Convenience stores win on AC, assortment, hot food, and 24/7 access — not lowest unit price.
- Late-night demand: 7 in 10 Filipinos snack 10 PM–2 AM. 24/7 ops is a structural advantage vs. DALI/O!Save (often 6 AM–10 PM).
- Foodservice, not just snacks: Popular items include siopao, hotdog sandwiches, rice meals, fried chicken, coffee. Peak purchase windows: 1–4 PM and 4–6 PM.
- Services layer: Bills payment, e-load, ATM, GCash cash-in — 7-Eleven payment volume reportedly 5× retail sales, ~₱20B/month.
Post-pandemic trends
- Revenge spending faded → thriftier, value-seeking behavior.
- Foodservice recovery strong (+15% foodservice sector est. 2024).
- Omnichannel: GrabMart, pandamart 24/7 dark stores compete for after-hours grocery.
- Hard discount explosion: DALI sales +57% to ₱34.1B (2024); O!Save +134.6% to ₱13.6B.
- Provincial expansion: chains shifting growth to Visayas/Mindanao and residential clusters.
- Financial services integration: ATMs, card payments (~7% of sales where enabled), credit facilitation pilots at 7-Eleven.
2. Business models
A. National franchise (recommended for first-time operators with capital)
| Brand | Total investment (approx.) | Franchise fee | Model highlights |
|---|---|---|---|
| 7-Eleven | ₱3.5M–₱6M (~US$57K–98K) | ₱627,000 | Gross profit split (not royalty-on-sales); turnkey; 4–8 weeks training |
| Alfamart | Not publicly disclosed | Not disclosed | SM-backed; franchise launched 2024–2025; tenant-to-franchisee path |
| Uncle John's | ~₱3.8M (historical) | ₱600,000 | In-store kitchen; fried chicken foodservice — verify current status with RRHI |
| FamilyMart | Was ₱4M–₱6M | ₱600,000 | Chain closed in PH ~2025 |
| San Mig Food Avenue | ₱1.5M–₱2.5M | ₱100,000 | Gas-adjacent + standalone; claimed ~24-mo ROI — verify current Petron/Treats split |
| Lawson | Not widely published | — | 200+ stores; Japan-owned — contact Lawson PH directly |
7-Eleven franchise model (critical detail): 47% of ~4,491 stores franchised; 53% company-owned. Shares gross profit, not a flat royalty on revenue. Process: inquiry → briefing → site selection → 3-level interview → MOA → ~1 month training → open in 4–6 months. Alfamart franchising: pilot in Laguna (2024); package economics disclosed after LOI to franchising@alfamart.com.ph.
B. Company-owned vs. franchised expansion
| Chain | Strategy |
|---|---|
| 7-Eleven | Mixed: ~53% corporate, ~47% franchise; aggressive corporate capex (₱5.5B in 2025) plus franchise pipeline |
| Alfamart | Historically company-operated; franchising now piloted to scale with lower capital intensity |
| Uncle John's | RRHI pushing franchise-driven expansion to control capex |
| DALI/O!Save | Almost entirely company-owned; rapid corporate rollout |
C. Independent mini-mart / sari-sari upgrade path
| Stage | Capital | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Sari-sari | ₱15K–₱150K+ | Home-based tingi; ₱5K–₱20K/month profit typical |
| Digitized sari-sari (GrowSari, etc.) | Low incremental | Wholesale ordering, e-load, bills payment, BNPL inventory |
| Independent mini-mart | ₱300K–₱500K | No brand fee; you build systems/suppliers yourself |
| Franchise convenience | ₱3.5M–₱6M+ | Brand, supply chain, SOPs, training |
Upgrade logic: Formalize sari-sari → add freezer/AC/hot food → add services (load, bills) → if sales justify it, convert to Alfamart tenant or franchise, or open branded store nearby.
D. Gas station + convenience
- Petron Treats: ~half of 2,435 Petron stations; reacquired 2021.
- Shell Select: ~157 stores.
- San Mig Food Avenue: evolved from Petron Treats; lower entry (~₱1.5M–₱2.5M) but verify current branding split.
Best for operators who can secure fuel station dealership (high bar) or lease space within an existing station.
3. Feasibility study elements
Startup capital ranges
| Model | Total capital (PHP) | USD approx. | Working capital buffer |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sari-sari (formal) | 20K–150K | $330–2,500 | 3–6 months opex |
| Independent mini-mart | 300K–500K | $5K–8K | Heavy |
| Mid franchise (Uncle John's/San Mig) | 1.5M–4M | $25K–66K | 3–6 months |
| Major franchise (7-Eleven, Alfamart) | 3.5M–6M+ | $57K–98K+ | Critical — rent + payroll + inventory before breakeven |
| + Rent deposit/fit-out (often separate) | +500K–2M+ | +$8K–33K | Varies by landlord |
Hidden costs often missed: CUSA (₱150–450/sqm), 12% VAT on rent, 5–10% annual escalation, fit-out (₱25K–40K/sqm for warm shell), security deposits (2–3 months), inventory bond (7-Eleven merchandise bond ~₱400K cited in third-party guides).
Location criteria
Green flags:
- 300m+ residential catchment or BPO/university/hospital anchor
- Corner lot, ground floor, visible signage
- Near MRT/LRT/bus/tricycle terminal
- 24/7 foot traffic (call centers, condos, hospitals)
- Zoned commercial; landlord allows 24-hour operation
Red flags:
- Same block as DALI + O!Save + sari-sari cluster
- Inside mall with restrictive hours (unless high-traffic transit mall)
- Flood-prone, no parking (provincial car owners)
- Liquor-ban barangay if beer is key category
Store size and rent benchmarks
| Parameter | Typical range |
|---|---|
| Store size | 80–120 sqm standard; 100–150 sqm with kitchen |
| Operating hours | 24/7 (franchise standard) vs 15h (sari-sari) |
| SKU count | ~2,500–3,000 (convenience) vs 300–500 (sari-sari) |
| Location | Rent per sqm/month (2025–2026 approx.) | 100 sqm store monthly rent (base only) |
|---|---|---|
| BGC/Makati prime | ₱1,800–4,500+ | ₱180K–450K+ |
| Ortigas/QC/Alabang | ₱800–2,500 | ₱80K–250K |
| Cebu prime high-street | ₱450–2,000 | ₱45K–200K |
| Davao mall/street | ₱650–1,500 | ₱65K–150K |
Rule of thumb: Rent should ideally stay ≤10–15% of projected monthly sales; above 15% is stress zone given labor and shrinkage.
Margin profiles
| Category | Typical gross margin band | PH notes |
|---|---|---|
| Prepared/hot food | 40–60% | Highest profit driver; labor/waste risk |
| Beverages/snacks | 25–45% | Impulse core |
| Packaged grocery | 15–30% | Compressed by DALI/O!Save |
| Cigarettes | 8–15% | Traffic driver, low margin |
| Services (load, bills) | Fee-based | Low capital, drives footfall |
| Net store margin | ~5–10% of gross sales | Industry guides |
Convenience items typically 10–20% above supermarket. You are selling time + access + AC + hot food, not lowest price.
Illustrative monthly P&L (100 sqm franchise, secondary Metro Manila site)
| Line | Assumption | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Daily sales | ₱50,000 (moderate) | — |
| Monthly sales | ×30 | ₱1,500,000 |
| COGS (65%) | (₱975,000) | |
| Gross profit | ₱525,000 | |
| Rent + CUSA | (₱120,000) | |
| Labor (5 staff) | (₱120,000–150,000) | |
| Utilities | (₱40,000–60,000) | |
| Other opex | (₱80,000) | |
| Net before franchise split | ₱175K–₱265K |
At ₱4.5M investment, ₱200K/month net to franchisee after split → ~22-month payback (optimistic). Weak sites at ₱35K/day can never pay back — hence the 3–5 year industry norm.
Staffing costs
- NCR minimum wage (2025–2026): ₱695/day non-agriculture; ₱658/day for retail ≤15 employees.
- True cost multiplier: +SSS, PhilHealth, Pag-IBIG (~10–14%) + 13th month + night differential.
- 24/7 staffing: Typically 4–6 employees minimum; manager-operator often covers gaps.
Regulatory requirements
| Step | Agency | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Business name | DTI or SEC | DTI Start & Grow for sole prop |
| Barangay clearance | LGU barangay | Zoning for retail |
| Mayor's/Business permit | LGU BPLO | One-stop shop in many cities |
| Tax registration | BIR (Form 2303, OR/invoices) | Mandatory before operations |
| Sanitary permit | City health office | Required for food handling |
| Fire Safety Inspection Certificate | Bureau of Fire Protection | Extinguishers, exits |
| Employer registration | SSS, PhilHealth, Pag-IBIG | If hiring staff |
| Liquor permit | LGU add-on | Separate from mayor's permit; age/curfew rules |
| BMBE registration (optional) | DTI Negosyo Center | Tax benefits if eligible (assets ≤₱3M) |
As sales grow, BIR VAT registration and certified POS / EIS transmission requirements apply. Modern franchise and minimart operators should plan compliance early — see the EIS Bridge certification playbook.
ROI and payback benchmarks
| Source | Payback period |
|---|---|
| Franchise industry guides | 3–5 years typical for convenience |
| 7-Eleven third-party docs | Up to 5 years if sales targets met |
| San Mig Food Avenue (claimed) | ~24 months (lower capex; verify) |
| Conservative planning | 5–6 years in secondary locations or during high inflation |
Opening a store? Plan BIR compliance early.
Franchise and minimart operators need certified systems and EIS transmission as sales scale. EIS Bridge connects any POS/ERP/Business System without heavy system source-code changes.
Read the certification playbook4. Competitive landscape & threats
Sari-sari stores (~1.3 million)
Still the largest retail ecosystem. Strengths: tingi, credit/trust (“utang”), hyper-proximity, no rent. Weaknesses: limited assortment, no AC, inconsistent quality. Hard discounters eroding price advantage in 2026.
Supermarkets and hard discounters
Puregold, SM, Robinsons supply sari-sari upstream via programs like Tindahan ni Aling Puring. DALI and O!Save are the fastest-growing threat — same residential sites as 7-Eleven. DALI reportedly not yet profitable at company level despite revenue scale — discounters may undercut on price longer than you can.
Digital / delivery
GrabMart, pandamart (24/7), MetroMart, Lazada Now: quick commerce market projected US$938.6M by 2029. Partial mitigation: immediate grab-and-go, hot food, cigarettes, ice-cold drinks, ATM/cash services — things delivery cannot replicate at zero wait.
Inflation and wage pressure
April 2026 inflation: 7.2% — food, fuel, utilities. NCR wage: ₱695/day with labor groups pushing +₱200 more. Impact: shrink margins unless you push higher-margin food/services.
5. Opportunities & differentiation
Food-forward (highest ROI lever)
Filipino RTE: siopao, rice meals, fried chicken, hot dogs, silog bowls. Differentiation: local taste (sawsawan, spicy), meal bundles under ₱99–₱149, fresh-not-frozen where possible.
Financial / digital services
Bills payment, e-load, remittance, GCash cash-in/out, ATM. 7-Eleven positions stores as “financial hubs” — fee income + traffic. Independent operators: partner with Bayad Center, ECPay, PayMaya/GCash agent programs.
Geographic white spaces
| Opportunity zone | Why |
|---|---|
| Clark/Pampanga | Full BPO hub occupancy |
| Iloilo, Bacolod, Davao, Cagayan de Oro | BPO centers of excellence + lower saturation |
| University towns (Los Baños, Baguio, Dumaguete) | Student late-night demand |
| Eco-tourism corridors | Seasonal but underserved modern retail |
| New township developments | First-mover before DALI enters |
Format positioning options
- Full franchise convenience — max support, max capital.
- Alfamart-style minimart — wider grocery + fresh; competes with DALI on assortment.
- Gas-station convenience — captive motorist traffic.
- “Premium tingi” independent — AC + branded coffee + load/bills in dense barangay.
6. Verdict: is it a good business?
Who it’s good for
- Owner-operators willing to work 60+ hours/week in year 1–2.
- Investors with ₱4M–₱8M liquid capital + 6–12 months opex reserve.
- People with real estate edge (own corner lot, landlord relationship, or BPO relocation intel).
- Operators with F&B or retail experience.
- Provincial entrants riding chain expansion into Visayas/Mindanao.
- Existing sari-sari/Alfamart landlords converting to franchise.
Who should avoid it
- Passive investors expecting managed returns.
- Those without site control hoping the franchisor will find a gold location.
- Undercapitalized entrants (<₱3M all-in) trying to compete with national chains.
- Operators unwilling to run 24/7 or manage shift workers.
- Locations already within 200m of DALI + O!Save + 7-Eleven.
Green flags and red flags
Green flags: Corner lot on commuter route with 24/7 traffic; captive demand (BPO, hospital, university, condo tower >500 units); franchise profit-share vs. pure royalty; foodservice kitchen permitted; services revenue >15% of transactions; landlord rent cap or revenue-share lease.
Red flags: Franchisor won't disclose average store-level sales; rent >15% of projected sales; company-owned stores closing nearby; dependence on cigarette sales; no exclusive territory; franchisor financial distress (FamilyMart-style brand exit risk).
Model comparison
| Model | Capital | Risk | Upside | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sari-sari | Lowest | Low–med | Limited (₱5K–₱20K/mo typical) | Learning retail; side income |
| Sari-sari + GrowSari/services | Low | Low–med | Moderate | Community-based operator |
| Independent mini-mart | Med | High (no brand/supply chain) | Med–high if excellent location | Experienced retailers only |
| National franchise | High | Med (proven system) | Med–high with A site | Serious entrepreneurs |
| Gas-station convenience | High (dealership) | Med | Steady motorist traffic | Fuel industry insiders |
Risk-adjusted recommendation: Rating 6.5/10 as a business category; 8/10 in the right provincial/BPO site with operator commitment; 4/10 as passive Metro Manila investment. Success is ~70% site selection, 20% operations, 10% brand.
Recommended path for most aspiring entrants:
- Start by formalizing a sari-sari or working as store manager for 6–12 months.
- Attend 7-Eleven + Franchise Asia briefings; apply for Alfamart if in Luzon.
- Build feasibility model on conservative daily sales (₱30K–₱40K), not franchisor best-case.
- Target provincial/BPO/university sites where chains are expanding but discounters haven't saturated.
- Only invest if unleveraged payback ≤5 years in your model.
7. Actionable next steps
Feasibility study checklist
- Define format: franchise vs. independent vs. upgrade
- Map 500m/300m catchment population, households, employers
- Count competitors (sari-sari, DALI, O!Save, 7-Eleven, Alfamart) on foot
- Get actual lease quote (base + CUSA + VAT + escalation)
- Model 3 scenarios: pessimistic / base / optimistic daily sales
- Include full labor cost (wages + benefits + 13th month)
- Budget shrinkage 1–3% of sales
- Confirm zoning + 24-hour permit + liquor if applicable
- Verify franchise profit split, fees, renewal, termination terms
- Reserve 6 months working capital post-opening
Questions to ask at franchise seminars
- What is median daily sales for new stores in your city type in year 1?
- What % of franchisees hit breakeven within 36 months?
- Exact profit split formula — what's included/excluded from “gross profit”?
- Territory protection radius?
- Average store closure rate and top 3 reasons?
- Can I speak with 2 franchisees near my target area (not franchisor referrals only)?
Due diligence before investing
- Attend official briefing — 7-Eleven schedule (Mon/Thu)
- Visit 10+ stores in target area at 6 AM, 2 PM, 10 PM — observe traffic
- Request FDD-equivalent financial disclosure in writing
- Interview franchisees independently
- Legal review of MOA by franchise lawyer
- Confirm BIR/tax structure (VAT vs non-VAT threshold ₱3M)
- Secure SBCorp pre-qualification if financing needed
Key resources
- 7-Eleven Franchising — franchising@7-eleven.com.ph
- Alfamart Franchise — franchising@alfamart.com.ph
- Franchise Asia Philippines 2026 — franchiseasiaph.com
- SBCorp RISE UP Tindahan — sbcorp.gov.ph/rise-up-tindahan
- USDA FAS Retail Foods Annual 2024 (Philippines)
POS/ERP/Business System vendor serving convenience stores?
Integrate once with the EIS Bridge Vendor API and offer BIR EIS compliance across your merchant base.
Vendor Partner Program Developer Portal